For Real Men Only!

Superhero Status – Escape The Herd (album review) ★★★★☆

The relative new Dutch hardcore punk band Superhero Status from Eindhoven was founded in 2016 and already played as support act with bands like H20, Comeback Kid and Expire. After they released their first EP in 2016, it’s s now time for the next one called “Escape The Herd”.

It’s the first time that I hear some music from these guys and I can tell you, it won’t be the last time. It’s melodic, up tempo, raw and catchy to sing a long with. Just like old school hardcore is meant to be. The sound is a little bit messy, which suits the songs perfectly. It’s like Agnostic Front meets modern punk rock at a Saturday night, packed with high energy.

It’s not the most original hardcore sound, but it’s just delicious and it makes me happy when I’m listening to it. The album is short, so is my review. And you know what? Short reviews are always good, because there’s no room for negative comments.

Can’t wait to see them live. Cheers!

Score: 8.8/10 ★★★★☆

01. Anthem
02. Get The Point
03. Those Days
04. High Five
05. Behind My Back
06. Chosen Course
07. Fast Life