Michael Schenker Fest – Resurrection (album review) ★★★★☆

Michael Schenker Fest – Resurrection (album review) ★★★★☆

Ladies and gentlemen, loyal subjects of PitKings, I salute you. I am here to provide you some piece of mind of what this guitar legend of UFO, Scorpions and M.S.G. has accomplished yet another time. I am talking about none other than the German guitar virtuoso Michael Schenker and his new edition of M.S.G. (Michael Schenker Group). This time he worked together with some old members from the past under the name Michael Schenker Fest. On March 2, 2018 the new and first album ‘Resurrection’ will be released.

If there are three words that could describe this album, it would be: melodic, exciting and passionate. Mr. Schenker forged a strong alliance with his ex-mates in M.S.G.. The amazing singers Graham Bonnet (Graham Bonnet Band, ex-Rainbow), Gary Barden (ex-Praying Mantis) and Robin McAuley. Because this wasn’t enough, he invited one more vocalist, also from one of his own works: Doogie White (ex-Rainbow, ex-Tank). The rest of the band features the long-time associates in M.S.G.: Ted McKenna on drums, Chris Glen on bass and Steve Mann on keyboards/rhythm guitar.

Michael Schenker Fest – Warrior

The whole album features the familiar feeling of Michael Schenker’s rock ‘n roll spirit and guitar work and brings back memories of the great hardrock and metal quality of the first M.S.G. albums. This album has a heavier approach to it’s predecessors, but still has the passion and vibe we all know from Michael Schenker. Especially the vocals of Doogie White is giving the album this heavy but melodic touch. But the band features so many veteran musicians and sounds so solid, that it feels this band plays together for ages. And in a certain way they do! Just listen to the song ‘The Last Supper’ and you know what I mean. All singers sing together and celebrate the decades of hardrock and metal music. I almost forget to mention that the song ‘Heart And Soul’ features the guitar work of one big Schenker fan: Metallica’s own Kirk Hammett. This album is one great effort that surely satisfy old and new fans. Case closed!

Score: 8.5/10 ★★★★☆

01. Heart And Soul
02. Warrior
03. Take Me To The Church
04. Night Moods
05. The Girl With The Stars In Her Eyes
06. Everest
07. Messing Around
08. Time Knows When It’s Time
09. Anchors Away
10. Salavation
11. Living A Life Worth Living
12. The Last Supper

About the author

Chief Editor & Founder of PitKings and proud metalhead.

View all articles by Anton Riemersma