08 February 2023

Soulfly – Rituals (album review) ★★★★☆

When Soulfly was founded by Max Cavalera in 1997, most of the people thought it would be some kind of side project and he would return to Sepultura sooner or later. Now 21 years later Soulfly is still going strong and is the American/Brazilian metal band ready to release their 11th studio album called “Rituals” on October 19, 2018 via Nuclear Blast.

When Soulfly started in 1997 the band was playing a mix of groove/nu metal and traditional tribal percussion, especially on their first albums. Basically Max continued where he was stopped with Sepultura’s “Roots”. With the latest albums “Enslaved”, “Savages” and “Archangel”, Soulfy was mainly playing thrash and death metal. Fast, aggressive and tight as hell.

The sound of Rituals is clear: the early albums with tribal percussion are combined with the thrash/death metal from the last albums. The first song “Rituals” is a groove metal song with traditional percussion, but also contains some thrash metal parts. The second song “Dead Behind The Eyes” with Lamb of God singer Randy Blytheis on vocals, is totally different and brings you fast thrash metal. Anoyher song I would like to mention is “Feedback!”, because it’s slightly different than the rest. Its an Exploited look a like punk song, packed with aggression. The album ends traditional with “Soulfly XI”. An instrumental, almost classic, song inclusing percussion, Spanish guitars and saxophone.

The compositions on this album are packed with variety, as there is happening a lot. The different musical styles are combined very decent and the tribal music is an important part in it. Nice details is that Max his son Zyon Cavalera is playing the drums again, as he is a member of the band since 2015.

If you like the latest albums of Sepultura and like fast thrash/death metal, “Rituals” is a must have for sure.

Score: 8.7/10 ★★★★☆

01. Ritual
02. Dead Behind The Eyes (feat. Randy Blythe)
03. The Summoning
04. Evil Empowered
05. Under Rapture (feat. Ross Dolan)
06. Demonized
07. Blood On The Street
08. Bite The Bullet
09. Feedback!
10. Soulfly XI