Maligner – Attraction To Annihilation (album review) ★★★★☆

Maligner – Attraction To Annihilation (album review) ★★★★☆

From Malmö, Sweden comes the deaththrash band Maligner, consisting of Aztiak and Ertheb, both of Latin American descend who started the band in 2015. After some writing and rehearsing, they were completed with Maligno to form this power trio. After their “Demon” tape in 2016 they thought it was time to come with their first full length album called “Attraction To Annihilation”, released on August 31, 2018 by Helter Skelter Productions and Blood Harvest Records.

The album comes with 8 songs of pumping death and trash metal, lead by Maligno to take you through this pounding album. The first song “Oathbound” is reason enough to keep listening to what’s coming next. The combination of the vocals, guitars and drums is giving me that thrash feeling which is hardly ever achieved.

Most bands in this genre overcompensate the lack of musical and vocal talent, by just sounding aggressive. Maligner doesn’t do that, because this trio plays in harmony to bring that real thrash to you. Even when a band is playing thrash metal, it’s good to bring variation to the songs. They don’t have to keep pounding the same for the average of 3 minutes per song.

This power trio gives you variation with awesome guitar licks, some death doom vibes and great drum work to keep you entertained and banging with this album. A little over 30 minutes to listen to these 8 songs, you’ll get a deaththrash album the way it should be!

Score: 8.6/10 ★★★★☆

01. Oath-bound
02. Lust For Fire
03. Disposable
04. Salvation
05. Reign Of Fear
06. Beyond Repair
07. Mental Breakdown
08. Into Oblivion

More about Maligner

About the author

Chief Editor & Founder of PitKings and proud metalhead.

View all articles by Anton Riemersma