Living on the edge!

MYRKUR – Folkesange (Album review) ★★★★☆

After the 2017 Album Mareridt (Album of the Year Metal Hammer), Myrkur (Icelandic word for Darkness) , formed by Amalie Bruun are back with their third album, called Folkesange. I first got to know Myrkur by their song called Ulvinde, A sweet song combined with very scary screams by Amalie which makes you thought that Blackmetal couldn’t get any scarier. Pushing the boundaries of this genre which led to some controversy and criticism. The strange way of composing blackmetal with Folk got me kind of hooked so I got excited when I found out a new album was coming. On the 20th of March it was released through Relapse records on all platforms so I started listening on the first chance I got. Is it worth it? Yes, it is. But a heads up, there is no metal on this album. Nothing, not even a Hint. This is a pure Pagan Folk album. But it is great, when you are in to it. But one must give it a chance. Lead by the beautiful vocalism of Amelie this album contains 12 songs to have you dreaming for almost 50 minutes. From the opening track Ella, starting with a heartbeat, till the last song Vinter, there is never a boring moment, not even for a Metalhead. So, if this is a Pagan Folk Album, should it be reviewed on a Metal zine? Maybe not, but by ever pushing the boundaries of Black/Folk metal and then coming with one without Metal at all, earns respect. Also, a shout out to Relapse records, for giving Artists this kind of freedom. Even though there is no metal on here, i’d still give it an 8 out of 10

Rating: 8 / 10 ★★★★☆


1. Ella 03:54
2. Fager som en Ros 02:50
3. Leaves of Yggdrasil 04:00
4. Ramund 03:28
5. Tor i Helheim 07:10
6. Svea 03:26
7. Harpens Kraft 03:19
8. Gammelkäring 03:28
9. House Carpenter 03:38
10. Reiar 03:46
11. Gudernes Vilje 03:56
12. Vinter 03:58