Cirrha Niva – Out Of The Freakshow (album review) ★★★★☆

Cirrha Niva – Out Of The Freakshow (album review) ★★★★☆

Cirrha Niva from the Netherlands are a well known name in ‘the world of prog metal’ and are already busy since 1993. With two demos, an EP and 3 full length albums, they now bring us their 4th album ‘Out Of The Freak Show’.

My first impression is that this album sounds really good, with 8 tracks of well executed progressive metal. Very technical riffs combined with a big dose of melodies and filled with solos. The drums are very progressive and packed with variety. Most of the time drummers have the urge to fill everything with everything. This drummer uses everything well dosed, so you can hear all the details very well. The bass player brings a big dose of groove to the songs and then you have the vocals! In my opinion one of the better clean metal singers in the Dutch prog-scene. You can hear Geoff Tate (Queensrÿche) influences and that can be considered as a large compliment! It’s also nice to see and hear that these guys are not afraid to play some clean passages. It makes this album more exciting and gives it alternation and some moments of rest.

This is a band that gets better and better by every album they make. ‘Out Of The Freakshow’ brings you music in the way of bands like Rush, Sanctuary and Queensrÿche. And it doesn’t get boring for one second!

Score: 8.1 /10 ★★★★☆

1) I Guess
2) From Ego
3) 24/7 Smile
4) Afraid to Bleed
5) Silver Tongues
6) Time
7) Reprise of a Beautiful Day
8) Just Another Legacy

More about Cirrha Niva

About the author

Chief Editor & Founder of PitKings and proud metalhead.

View all articles by Anton Riemersma