For Real Men Only!

Amaranthe – Helix (album review) ★★★★☆

To be honest, I’m not very familiar with this metal collective from Sweden. Amaranthe is active since 2008 and released 5 albums till so far. So shame on me! Their latest recording is “Helix”, which was released on October 19, 2018 via Spinefarm Records.

The band is playing a blend of dance metal, melodic metalcore, heavy metal and power metal. Well, to keep it simple, I just call it symphonic metal. I think that suits this band best. They play very bombastic, symphonic and danceable metal in de style of Delain, but more layered and more complex. The songs and melodies are very catchy and are perfect to sing a long with.

Good to know is that Amaranthe is notable for having three lead vocalists: Elize Ryd (clean female vocals), Henrik Englund Wilhelmsson (grunting) and Nils Molin (clean male vocals). The three are working perfectly together and alternate where the music asks for it.

During the album there’s not a weak moment or song that should not be on the disc. There’s lots of variety, switching from heavy and bombastic metal to catchy, progressive and symphonic rock music with a beat and bite. So, if you are into symphonic metal, female fronted metal or just looking for a refreshing version of heavy metal, you definitely should check “Helix”!

Score: 8.3/10 ★★★★☆

01.The Score
02. 365
03. Inferno
04. Countdown
05. Helix
06. Dream
07. GG6
08. Breakthrough Starshot
09. My Haven
10. Iconic
11. Unified
12. Momentum